directed, produced and written by
Geoff Bowie

The Nature of Things
with David Suzuki

executive producer
Michael Allder

edited by
Petra Valier

director of photography
Derek Kennedy

location sound
Keith Henderson

production coordinator
Betty Harnum

original music
Philippe Lapointe

coordinating producer
Michael Bennett

unit production manager
June Hall

associate director
Renée Moreau Burns

visual research
Gina Cali

John Fraser

series graphic design
Terry O’Neill

sound editor
Alan Geldart

sound mix
Paul Offenbacher

production coordinators
Norma Kassi, Old Crow
Ken Madsen, Arctic National Wildlife Refuge
Leah Grandjambe, Fort Good Hope
Mary Kochon, Colville Lake
Ria Letcher, Dehcho First Nation

Elizabeth Hardisty, Fisherman Lake
Lucy Yakaleya, Fort Good Hope & Colville Lake
Mary Jane Moses, Old Crow

additional camera – Yellowknife
Terry Woolf

videotape editing
Edwin Wilkinson

foley artist
Sid Lieberman

foley recording
Chris Welsh

music consultant
Patrick Russell

Peter Jorgensen

program assistant
Jill Kinsella

assistant to executive producer
Vance Chow

production assistants
Molly Asseltine
Beverley Brown

additional images and footage

National Film Board of Canada
CBC Archives
The Canadian Filmmakers Distribution Centre

map information developed
and provided by

the Sahtu Settlement
Sahtu GIS Project 2006
Norman Wells, NT

the Dehcho Region
Dehcho Land Use Planning Committe

Vuntut Gwichin Settlement
Vuntut Gwichin First Nation

map of melting polar ice cap
Arctic Climate Impact Assessment Study, 2004

the MGP Cumulative Effects Map
Canadian Arctic Resources Committee

still of Pointed Mountain
Amoco and the Globe & Mail

special thanks
Tom Berger
Bev Berger
and all those who participated in this documentary

many thanks to

Fort Liard
Chief Floyd Bertrand

Fort Good Hope
Chief Ron Pierrot
Stephen Kakfwi
Frank T’Seleie
Jonas Kakfwi
Paul T’Seleie
Francis Jackson

Colville Lake
Chief Richard Kochon
Wilbert Kochon

Old Crow
all the participants at the Tloo’K’at meeting
Megan Williams & VGFN

Arctic National Wildlife Refuge
Monte Hummel WWF
Ken Madsen
Glen Davis
Dalee Sambo Dorough
Pam Miller

Nellie Cournoyea
Billy Day
Shirley Harley MGP
Andrea Hoyt and the
youth in the mentorship program
Elaine Alexis, Arctic Indigenous Youth Alliance
Burton Ayles

Kakisa Lake
Jim Antoine
Chris Reid
Alison de Pelham
Felix Isaah, Wesley, Mallory, Carla
and Heidi Wiebe

Petr Cizek
Shelagh Montgomery
Kevin O’Reilly
Jennifer Duncan
Dora Duncan

Tara Cullis Suzuki

The producers would like to acknowledge the great contribution made by
filmmaker Jesse Nishihata for his work “The Inquiry Film”, 1977.

The Nature of Things
with David Suzuki

produced by
Canadian Broadcasting Corporation
(c) MMIV